Compile and Commit / Rollback
A transaction is committed, if all statements in the transactions were performed successfully and the whole transaction was completed without error. By committing a transaction, the instructions entered are interpreted and saved permanently to disk or cancelled. In IBExpert the
icon or [Ctrl + F9] can be used to perform this task. The Compile dialog shows whether the modifications, insertions or deletions are correct; the Commit button finally writes the alterations permanently to the database.
A transaction is rolled back, if the alterations are cancelled or revoked by the operator, or if an active transaction is perceived by another transaction to be "dead" and so set in a rolled-back condition. Rollback also aborts the compile actions, should errors have been reported or modifications be necessary.